Sound, Meaning, Education

CONVERSATIONS

Held virtually on July 21, 2021

Free and open to all

Contact rebeccarinsema (at) gmail (dot) com for the zoom link

Conversants

Jonathan Sterne, McGill

Nina Eidsheim, UCLA

Robin James, UNC Charlotte

Ola Stockfelt, University of Gothenburg

Anthony Kwame Harrison,Virginia Tech

Jessica Bissett Perea, UC Davis

Trevor Reed, ASU

John-Carlos Perea, San Francisco State University

Chad Hamill, NAU

Nicole Furlonge, Teachers College, Columbia

Walter Gershon, Kent State

Kara Attrep, NAU

Robert Wallace, NAU

Guillermo Galindo, California College of the Arts

John Granzow, University of Michigan

Mathias Hinke, Universität der Künste Berlin 

James Humberstone, Sydney Conservatory

Matthew Thibeault, The Education University of Hong Kong

Patricia Green, Western University

Jashen Edwards, Western University

Pamela Burnard, Cambridge University

David Elliott, NYU

Dylan Van der Schyff, University of Melbourne

Rebecca Rinsema, NAU

James Leve, NAU 

Dreams Come True Music Studio, London, ON 

Caroline Blumer, Western University

Allison O’Connor, Dreams Come True Music Studio

Music educators across all levels have traditionally concerned themselves with teaching musicality and musical interpretation as it is mediated by western music notation. Increasingly, digital technologies allow composers, producers, and DJ’s, among other musicians, to demonstrate a kind of musicality without notation as an intermediary; musical sounds can be created and manipulated directly without reference to western notation or traditional music theory. Such practices connect to the ways that humans overwhelmingly interact with music throughout the world, in vernacular and non-western contexts where notation plays a less prominent role. A natural extension of these phenomena is that music listeners likely also procure musicalities in their abilities to interpret and understand musical sounds directly. Embodied cognitive theory (psychology) and ecological theory (philosophy) have potential for helping us understand such phenomena--but, so far, these alternative musicalities have been under-explored and under-developed within institutional music education and general education contexts. At the same time, in the last several years, a number of scholars, in a variety of disciplines outside of music and music education (performance studies, media studies, cultural studies, film studies, communications, etc.), have begun to chart this territory. As part of a ‘sensory turn’  across the academy (see the work of David Howes), these sound studies and auditory culture scholars have utilized and developed new theoretical frameworks, beyond traditional musicological/aesthetic frameworks, to explore human experiences with sounds and their meanings, musical sounds included. The work of Jonathan Sterne, Les Black, Michael Bull, and Anahid Kassabian has been especially foundational to this area of inquiry. Such scholars seek to characterize and theorize the concept of sound and sound experiences, viewing them as foundational and integral to concepts of music and musical experiences. 

 

This interdisciplinary, virtual conference explores how such musicalities and embodied knowledges of sound might bear on education and pedagogy on any level and within any context. Scholars across the disciplines will discuss how sound studies has impacted their work and field, and begin connecting their work to education. The conference will be open to the public. For the zoom link, send an email to: rebeccarinsema (at) gmail (dot) com

Organizers

Rebecca M. Rinsema, PhD.                    Jashen I. Edwards, Ph.D. Candidate 

Assistant Professor                                                          Adjunct Professor

School of Music                                             Don Wright Faculty of Music

Northern Arizona University                                           Western University 

 

SCHEDULE 

 

11am EDT, 8am PDT

Welcome

15 minutes

Christopher Boyer, NAU

Rebecca Rinsema, NAU

 

11:15am EDT, 8:15am PDT (5:15pm Gothenburg)

Session 1: The Interdisciplinarity of Sound Studies: Theoretical Soundings

75 minutes

 

Jonathan Sterne, McGill

Nina Eidsheim, UCLA

Robin James, UNC Charlotte

Ola Stockfelt, University of Gothenburg

Anthony Kwame Harrison,Virginia Tech, Conversation Guide

 

30-minute COFFEE/MEAL BREAK (option to socialize)

 

1:00pm EDT, 10:00am PDT

Session 2: Theory into Practice in General Education Contexts

60 minutes

 

Nicole Furlonge, Teachers College, Columbia

Walter Gershon, Kent State

Kara Attrep, NAU, Conversation Guide

Robert Wallace, NAU, Conversation Guide 

 

15-minute STRETCH BREAK

2:15pm EDT, 11:15am PDT

Session 3: The Sounds of Incarceration

45 minutes

Mark Katz, UNC Chapel Hill, Conversation Guide

Others TBA

30-minute COFFEE/MEAL BREAK

 

3:30pm EDT, 2:30 CST, 12:30pm PDT, (8:30pm GMT, 7:30am AEDT)

Session 4: Theoretical Soundings: Embodied Cognition, Ecological Theory, Music Education

60 minutes

 

Pamela Burnard, Cambridge University

David Elliott, NYU

Dylan Van der Schyff, University of Melbourne

Rebecca Rinsema, NAU, Conversation Guide

 

30-minute COFFEE/MEAL BREAK (option to socialize)

 

5:00pm EDT, 2:00pm PDT

Session 5: Indigenous Soundings: Environmental and Cultural Landscapes

60 minutes

 

Jessica Bissett Perea, UC Davis

Trevor Reed, ASU

John-Carlos Perea, San Francisco State University

Chad Hamill, NAU, Conversation Guide

 

30-minute COFFEE BREAK (option to socialize)

 

6:30pm EDT, 3:30pm PDT (12:30am Berlin, 6:30am Hong Kong, 9:30am Sydney)

Session 6: Sounding New Instruments and Participatory Methods

75 minutes 

 

Guillermo Galindo, California College of the Arts

John Granzow, University of Michigan

Mathias Hinke, Universität der Künste Berlin

James Humberstone, Sydney Conservatory

Matthew Thibeault, The Education University of Hong Kong

Patricia Green, Western University

Jashen Edwards, Western University, Conversation Guide 

 

15-minute STRETCH BREAK

 

8:00pm EDT, 5:00pm PDT

Session 7: Sounding All Abilities

60 minutes

 

James Leve, NAU 

Performance: Dreams Come True Music Studio, London, ON 

Caroline Blumer, Western University

Allison O’Connor, Dreams Come True Music Studio

Sponsors and Affiliates

Reversed-Color-Variations_Reversed-Gold-

Northern Arizona University

School of Music

Western University

Don Wright Faculty of Music

 

Western University

SOGSIM

unnamed.png
sogsim.jpeg